One Bibliophile, One Sign, Five Books

I love to read! At night, as a teen, I’d lean over the edge of my bed to read books by the light from the hallway way past my official bed time. I still read every night but thanks to my bedside lamp, I no longer worry about eye strain!

Given my life-long love of books, I don’t know how I managed to miss out on the first 10 years of Canada Reads, an annual “battle of the books” organized and broadcast by CBC Radio. I blame some combination of work, volunteering, raising two boys and my preference for spending time outdoors for the fact that I simply didn’t ever happen to hear any of the Canada Reads debates from 2002 to 2012. It’s not because I don’t listen to CBC Radio; I grew up listening to CBC Radio and am a long-time fan of the Calgary Eyeopener, Quirks and Quarks, The Homestretch, and The Vinyl Cafe. A couple of years ago I joined the broadcast audience for The Debaters and Q, and that’s most likely when I first learned about Canada Reads.

Early in 2013, over a period of three or four weeks, I read and reviewed all five books in the running for Canada Reads 2013. I was surprised to feel considerable disappointment when my favourite (Indian Horse by Richard Wagamese) was eliminated before the final round. But I really enjoyed the debates and decided I would at least think about reading all the books in contention for Canada Reads 2014 once they were announced.

When the reading list was announced on November 29, 2013 one of the finalists was already sitting on the top of my “to be read” pile. I took that as a “sign” that I should read and review all five books vying to be recognized as the book to change the nation.

For those who regularly visit this blog for the photographs or to get the inside scoop on our outdoor adventures, please hang in there. I’ve finished the reading and plan to publish all my Canada Reads 2014 reviews and rankings over the next several days. If all goes as planned, I should get back to writing about photography, hiking and other outdoor adventures just in time for the start of the 2014 Winter Olympics.

And for all you book lovers, I look forward to hearing your thoughts on Canada Reads 2014. Which book do you think will win? And why?

We appreciate comments, questions & suggestions. If we're slow to respond, please be patient. We're probably out adventuring!

